Saxophonist Daniel Gaggioli cannot be categorized. He loves the unique as well as the traditional. As a musician in large ensembles or as a soloist, he convinces with his warm and personal saxophone sound. The common element of his expressive playing is the flair for melodies. Gaggioli composes jazz pieces in a variety of styles that offer other musicians opportunities to express themselves freely.


 

„…the saxophonist, endowed with a beautiful technique, plays, with sobriety and feeling, very pretty themes. We sometimes think of a Paul Desmond in less ethereal form.“ Daniel Gindrat on JAZZ One More Time Magazin


 

Daniel Gaggioli changed in his youth from clarinet to saxophone. His musical curiosity led him to train as a classical saxophonist and jazz musician at the Conservatory of Fribourg and at the music academy in Bern. Using the many possibilities that the saxophone offers, he gathered experiences as an improviser, in a saxophone quartet, as a soloist or chamber musician, in orchestras or big bands. He lives with his family in Thun and teaches saxophone at the Freiburg Conservatory.

Den Saxophonisten Daniel Gaggioli vermag man nicht zu schubladisieren. Er liebt das musikalisch Einzigartige wie auch das Traditionelle. Sei es in grösseren Formationen oder als Solist überzeugt er mit seinem persönlichen warmen Saxophonsound. Das verbindende Element seines ausdruckstarken Spiels ist das Gespür für Melodien. Stilübergreifend und vielfältig komponiert er Jazzstücke, die den anderen Musiker Spielraum zur Mitgestaltung bieten.


 

„…der Saxophonist, ausgestattet mit einer schönen Technik, spielt mit Nüchternheit und Gefühl sehr schöne Themen, manchmal denken wir an einen Paul Desmond weniger ätherisch.“ Daniel Gindrat in JAZZ One More Time


 

Daniel Gaggioli wechselte im Teenageralter von der Klarinette zum Saxophon. Die musikalische Neugierde führte ihn zur Ausbildung am Konservatorium Fribourg und an der Musikhochschule Bern zum Klassik- und Jazz- Saxophonisten. Die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten des Saxophons nutzend, machte er Erfahrungen als freier Improvisator, im Saxophonquartett, als Solist oder Kammermusiker, im Orchester und in Big Bands. Daniel Gaggioli lebt mit seiner Familie in Thun und unterrichtet Saxophon am Konservatorium Fribourg Klassik- und Jazz Saxophon.