start
accueil
home
band
formation
band
musik
musique
music
bilder
images
pictures
links
liens
links
kontakt
contact
contact
 


The DannyJazz Quartet is the jazz combo around the saxophonist Daniel Gaggioli. The unusual line-up - saxophone, guitar, bass and drums - creates a light and elegant sound. The band masters ballads with depth, up-tempo tunes with esprit and cool latin grooves.

Daniel Gaggioli is able to compose catchy and melodic themes which allow the listener to day-dream and the musicians to have freedom for improvising.

The band started in 2012 as a trio without drums and became a quartet in 2016. Gigs in Switzerland and other European countries helped the band to gain experience and to find it’s own style. One important concern of the band is to experiment with additional instruments and to rearrange the original compositions by adding guest soloists like Franco d’Andrea (p), Jérome DeCarli (p) and Martin Kissling (dr).

The debut CD Gymnosphère was recorded in summer 2014. The album was prepared in Meran (South Tyrol, Italy) and reflects perfectly the atmosphere of the Mediterranean Alps. Another CD is planned and will be hopefully released in 2018.

 

 

     

Daniel Gaggioli
Saxophone

Trained on the clarinet he switched to saxophone as a teenager. Musical curiosity led him to studies at the Conservatory of Fribourg and at the Musikhochschule Bern for classical and jazz saxophone. He gathered experiences in free improvising, in saxophone quartets, as soloist or chamber musician in classical orchestras and big bands. The DannyJazz Quartet introduces him now as leader and composer. Daniel Gaggioli lives with his family in Thun and teaches saxophone at the Conservatory of Fribourg.

 

 

 

 

Michael Ferber
Guitar

Having grown up with classical music and educated on piano and violin, he discovered blues and jazz as a teenager. He taught himself to play guitar and became a member of various combos and big bands in the Augsburg-area in Germany. After baby break and career changes he started to make jazz music again in 2008.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meinrad Thalmann
Bass

Training as bassist at the jazz department of the Conservatory of Fribourg. He is a member of several bands and accompanies occasionally choirs, plays and musicals with his electric or double bass.

 

Nicolas Baechler
Drums

Born in 1962, he started his education as drummer and percussionist in regional brass bands, followed by studies at the Conservatory of Fribourg, the EJMA in Lausanne and the Swiss Jazz School in Bern. His musical preference for African rhythms, his commitment as percussionist in Dixieland bands, as drummer in hard bop combos and as a companion of choirs and brass bands mark him as a versatile and experienced musician.

 

 

Mandana Grossenbacher Voice

Deeply moved by the expressiveness of the portrayed artists in the Swiss film «Heimatklänge», Mandana Grossenbacher began to yodel. She acquired her basic yodeling education at the Jodlerclub Gunzgen, followed by self-studies. Today, Mandana sings in the folk music duo «Wyt Dröberus» where she dares to compose new songs or to improvise freely with her voice and where she continuously looks for new singing challenges. In collaboration with the DannyJazz Quartet, she eventually discovered her ability to express moods and life stories in words.

start
accueil
home
band
formation
band
musik
musique
music
bilder
images
pictures
links
liens
links
kontakt
contact
contact
 


Le DannyJazz Quartet - saxophone, guitare, contrebasse et batterie - est une petite, légère et élégante formation du saxophoniste Daniel Gaggioli. Dans son repèrtoire se trouvent des ballades pénétrant jusqu'au plus profond des pores, des pièces à up-tempo soit humoristiques soit spirituelles et des thèmes qui se gravent dans la mémoire.

Les compositions de Daniel Gaggioli invitent l'auditeur de découvrir un univers clairs. Les éspaces musicales sont remplies avec beaucoup de sensibilités mélodiques et l'architecture harmonique donne aux musiciens la libérté à l'improvisation. Des créations sonores font surgir des réveries.

Fondé en 2012 en tant que trio, c'est depuis l'été 2016 qu'un batteur c'est joint au trio pour former l'actuel DannyJazz Quartet. Riches d'expériences musicales faîtes à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la Suisse, le groupe aiment jouer avec des solistes invités, comme par exemple Franco d'Andrea, Jérome DeCarli ou Martin Kissling.

Aprés un séjour d'une semaine à Merano (Tyrol du Sud), un premier CD (Gymnosphère) fut enregistré au Studio Splendor à Berne, un album diversifié et expressif créant l'atmosphère méditerranenne du monde des Alpes. Un nouveau CD est planifié et sortira probablement au printemps 2018.

 

 

     

Daniel Gaggioli
Saxophone

a changé dans sa jeunesse de la clarinette au saxophone. Sa curiosité musicale l'emmenait à faire une formation de saxophoniste classique et de jazz au Conservatoire de Fribourg et à la haute école de musique à Berne. En utilisant les nombreuses possibilités qui offre le saxophone, il entassait des expériences en tant qu'improvisateur, dans un quatuor de saxophonistes, en tant que solistes ou musicien de chambre, dans des orchèstres ou des big bands. Il est le leader et le compositeur au sein du DannyJazz Quartet. Il vit avec sa famille à Thoune et donne des cours de saxophone au Conservatoire de Fribourg.

 

 

 

 

Michael Ferber
Guitarre

a grandi avec de la musique classique et une formation au piano et au violon. Il découvre le blues et le jazz seulement à l'âge d'un poins de vingt ans. Ensuite des études autodidactes de guitare, membre de plusieurs combos et big bands autour de la région d'Augsbourg. Aprés une pause d'enfants du premier âge et des changements professionnels il fait à nouveau de la musique jazz depuis 2012.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meinrad Thalmann
Basse

Formation de bassiste dans la séction de jazz au Conservatoire de Fribourg. Membre de plusieurs groupes, accompagnateur occasionnel de choeurs, de piéces de théâtre ou de comédies musicales.

 

Nicolas Baechler
Batterie

Né en 1962, c'est au sein de la fanfare locale que Nicolas fait ses débuts de batteur et pércussioniste. Il poursuit sa formation en batterie jazz au Conservatoire de Fribourg, à l'EJMA de Lausannes ainsi que plus récemment à la Swiss Jazz School de Berne. Attiré par les musiques exotiques, il joue également des percussions africaines. Nicolas est actif dans différents ensembles et styles musicaux (Brass Band, Dixieland, Jazz Hard Bop) et assure la formation des jeunes dans différentes sociétés.

 

 

Mandana Grossenbacher Voix

Le jeu d’acteur de la tête d’affiche du film suisse «Heimatklänge » a énormément touché Mandana Grossenbacher, qui s’est alors mise au jodel. Elle apprit les bases au sein du club de jodel de Gunzgen, puis continua en apprentissage autodidacte. Actuellement, Mandana chante dans le duo de musique folklorique « Wyt Dröberus », tente ses propres compositions et improvise. Elle est constamment à la recherche de nouveaux défis vocaux. Grâce à sa collaboration avec le DannyJazz Quartet, elle put apprivoiser son talent de compositrice et transposer des histoires quotidiennes en paroles et musique.